Tornado Watch issued for multiple counties in north Missouri for Saturday

Torndao Watch News Graphic
Share To Your Social Network

The National Weather Service has issued a Tornado Watch effective until 9 p.m. Saturday, April 27, 2024, for multiple areas across Kansas and Missouri.

During a tornado watch, stay alert and prepare for the possibility of a tornado. You should monitor weather reports via local news, weather channels, or a trusted online source to stay updated on storm developments. Ensure that your mobile devices are charged and emergency alerts are enabled to receive timely updates.

Identify a safe room or a tornado shelter in your home, preferably a basement, storm cellar, or an interior room on the lowest floor with no windows. Gather essential items like water, non-perishable food, flashlights, a first-aid kit, and necessary medications. Discuss safety plans with all members of your household, and if you are outside, seek immediate shelter in a sturdy building. Avoid windows and doors, and protect yourself from flying debris with heavy blankets or mattresses.

Counties in the Watch Area:

  • Kansas: Atchison, Doniphan, Leavenworth, Wyandotte
  • Missouri: Caldwell, Daviess, Grundy, Harrison, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Putnam, Sullivan, Adair, Schuyler, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Clinton, DeKalb, Gentry, Holt, Nodaway, Worth, Clay, Platte, Ray

Communities in the Watch Area:

  • Albany, Atchison, Bethany, Braymer, Breckenridge, Brookfield, Cameron, Chillicothe, Clarksdale, Country Club Villa, Craig, Downing, Elwood, Excelsior Springs, Fairfax, Forest City, Fort Leavenworth, Gallatin, Gladstone, Glenwood, Grant City, Green City, Greentop, Hamilton, Highland, Jamesport, Kansas City, Kearney, King City, Kirksville, Lancaster, Lansing, Lathrop, Lawson, Leavenworth, Liberty, Maitland, Marceline, Maryville, Maysville, Mercer, Milan, Mound City, Oregon, Osborn, Parkville, Platte City, Plattsburg, Polo, Princeton, Queen City, Richmond, Riverside, Rock Port, Savannah, St. Joseph, St. Joseph Airport, Stanberry, Stewartsville, Tarkio, Trenton, Troy, Union Star, Unionville, Wathena, Weatherby Lake, Weston.

Share To Your Social Network