SEMA to host applicant briefings Oct. 3 and 4 for local governments, nonprofits included in federal disaster declaration

Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) website

Following the federal disaster declaration for multiple severe weather systems that impacted Missouri July 29 – August 14, the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) will conduct applicant briefings Oct. 3 and 4, 2023, for local governments and nonprofit agencies applying for assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

SEMA strongly encourages all eligible agencies in the 33 declared counties that plan to apply for assistance to attend one of the briefings, which explain program changes, eligibility information, the federal reimbursement process, documentation requirements, and other essential program information.

Applicant briefings will take place at the following times and locations:

Tuesday, Oct. 3

8 a.m. – 12 p.m.

  • Greene County Public Safety Center
  • 330 W. Scott St.
  • Springfield, MO 65802

9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

  • Sikeston Department of Public Safety (please park in the south gravel lot)
  • 201 S. Kingshighway
  • Sikeston, MO 63801

9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

  • Kirksville Aquatic Center
  • 801 E. Mill St.
  • Kirksville, MO 63501

 Wednesday, Oct. 4

8 a.m. – 12 p.m.

  • Clinton Community Center
  • 1008 E. Sedalia Ave.
  • Clinton, MO 64735

9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

  • Recklein Auditorium
  • 202 N. Smith St.
  • Cuba, MO 65453

9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

  • Hundley-Whaley Extension and Education Center
  • 1109 S. Birch St.
  • Albany, MO 64402

Note that applicant briefings are not for the general public. This disaster declaration is for FEMA’s Public Assistance program only, which provides assistance to local governments and qualifying nonprofits for the repair of damaged roads, bridges, and other public infrastructure as well as reimbursement of associated emergency response and recovery costs.

All Requests for Public Assistance (RPAs) must be submitted to FEMA within 30 days of the Sept. 21 disaster declaration date, or Oct. 21. RPAs must first be received and processed by SEMA before being submitted to FEMA by the Oct. 20 deadline, so applicants should plan accordingly.

An authorized representative for each potential applicant should attend one of the briefings in order to register for FEMA Public Assistance. In-person applicant briefings can last up to four hours and provide an opportunity to meet with FEMA personnel, begin the required paperwork, and ask questions. In order to register in a timely manner, attendees should bring their organization’s Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) and federal Employer Identification Number (EIN).

The following counties are included in the federal disaster declaration: Adair, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Camden, Christian, Clark, Crawford, Dade, Gentry, Greene, Grundy, Henry, Iron, Knox, Madison, Maries, Mississippi, Morgan, New Madrid, Ozark, Perry, Scotland, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, Taney, Vernon, Wayne, and Worth.

Any government agency – including special districts such as road, water, or sewer districts – or nonprofits in the above-impacted areas that incurred disaster-related expenses should attend, including those that are unsure of their eligibility status.

SEMA encourages public officials and community leaders in the affected areas to share this information with all potential applicants to ensure they have an opportunity to attend a briefing and submit an RPA.