August Primary Roundup: A multitude of candidates file for offices

2020 Elections vote

Tuesday was the final day to file for the August Primary Election. There is one race in Grundy County, and that is for Second District Commissioner. Candidates for the position are incumbent Joe Brinser, Brad Chumbley, and Martha Roberts. They each filed as Republicans.

There is one candidate each for other Grundy County offices. Incumbents filing to seek reelection are Republicans First District Commissioner Don Sager, Collector-Treasurer Barb Harris, Public Administrator Jill Eaton, Sheriff Rodney Herring, and Coroner Dewayne Slater. Nathaniel Curtis filed for Grundy County Assessor.

In Livingston County, there are races for all but one position. Those filing for coroner were Democrat incumbent J. Scott Lindley and Republican Joshua Dennis. For collector-treasurer, Diana Havens and Kaley Holmes filed as Republicans, and Teresa Ann Sykes filed as a Democrat. Incumbent David Maple filed for West District Commissioner as a Republican, and Kris Daniel filed for the position as a Democrat. East District Commissioner Alvin R. Thompson filed seeking reelection, and Roger Barnes also filed—both as Republicans. For sheriff, incumbent Steve Cox and Richard L. Knouse both filed as Republicans. Geri Curtis and Whitney Ballard filed as Republicans for public administrator. The only filing for the assessor was Democrat incumbent Steve Ripley.

Several candidates also filed for district and state offices at the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office in Jefferson City.

Eight candidates filed for United States Representative District 6. Filing as Republicans were incumbent Sam Graves of Tarkio and Chris Ryan of Liberty. Filing as Democrats for U. S. Representative District 6 were Ramona Farris of Kansas City, Charles West of Canton, Gena L. Ross of Platte City, Henry Martin of Kansas City, and Donald Robert Sartain of Saint Joseph. Jim Higgins of Saint Louis filed as a Libertarian.

Incumbent Denny Hoskins filed as a Republican for reelection as State Senator District 21, and Mark Bliss filed as a Democrat. Both are from Warrensburg.

Three candidates filed for State Representative District 2. They were Republican incumbent J. Eggleston of Maysville and Democrats Mindi Smith of Union Star and Bridget Gibson of Worth.

There were two filings for State Representative District 6. Those filing were Republican Ed Lewis of Moberly and Democrat Terrence Fiala of Marceline.

Four filed as Republicans for State Representative District 8. They were Gary Stroud of Lawson, Darlene Breckenridge of Cameron, Randy Railsback of Hamilton, and David Woody of Lathrop.

Incumbent Danny Busick of Newtown was the only filing for State Representative District 3. He filed as a Republican.

Incumbent Rusty Black of Chillicothe is the only candidate for State Representative District 7. He filed as a Republican.