Princeton Board of Education approves personnel matters

Princeton R-5 School

The Princeton R-5 Board of Education approved several personnel matters last night at its meeting.

The board approved the resignation of custodian Kevin Knutson, the retirements of elementary teacher Lisa Robinson and elementary librarian Terry Bayless, the resignation of extra duties of football cheer sponsors Christy Stockman and Ranae Shahan and junior high cheer sponsor Alexis Whitney.

The board also approved additional information to be added to the ballot language for the April 4 election.

A special board meeting will be Wednesday morning at 11:15 to formally approve the resolution and final draft of the ballot language.

The board reviewed bills introduced by Republican State Representative Joe Don McGaugh of Carrollton and Republican Representative Bill Lant of Pineville known as the “School Construction Act”.

The bills would provide an option for school districts to opt out of mandated Prevailing Wage requirements.

The bills could go into effect without an emergency clause as early as the end of August.

Princeton R-5 is looking at possible construction projects in the near future, so the board will continue to monitor the “School Construction Act” to see if delaying bids could be better for taxpayers.

Superintendent Jerry Girdner updated the school board on the Land and Water Conservation Fund – Track Grant.

The school district applied for an extension of the grant after speaking to a Missouri State Parks representative.

The district currently has until the end of 2017 to complete the project for an all-weather track.

The extension could move the deadline to the end of 2018.

The board received a letter from the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education saying Princeton R-5 is accredited under the fifth year of the Missouri School Improvement Program.

The board announced Friday, May 19th will be a half-day of school to make up for the snow day December 19th.

The Princeton R-5 school board election filing dates run through Tuesday, January 17.

Rick Ellsworth, Larry Pollard, and Karla Meinke (MIKE) have filed for the three openings as incumbents.