August, 2016 Primary: Election results for north Missouri

North Missouri Election results by the numbers

In a recap of primary election results, Incumbent Grundy County Commissioner Gene Wyant was defeated in his re-election bid.

Former ag teacher at Chillicothe, Rusty Black, wins the race for seventh district state representative. Republican voters in the first district of Grundy County nominated Don Sager for county commissioner with 53 and a half percent of the votes.

Gene Wyant received 45 percent. The raw vote was Sager 447 and Wyant 379.

Sager advances to the November general election where he will have an opponent: Jimmy Martin filed as an Independent for 1st district commissioner.

Six incumbent officials in Grundy County won the nomination by Republicans and have no opposition in the November election. They are Joe Brinser, Rodney Herring, Barbara Harris, Kathy Veatch, Jill Eaton, and Dewayne Slater. Grundy County had a voter turnout of 27.66%.

Rusty Black won by big margins in Grundy, Livingston, and Linn Counties to become the next 7th district state representative, Black defeated the challenger of John Myers of Trenton. Black received over 86 percent of the vote to nearly 14 percent for Myers. Results from the three counties give Black 41 hundred and four votes to 645 for Myers.

Winning a race for second district representative is Republican Incumbent J. Eggleston with 81 and a half percent of the vote from four counties of Harrison, Daviess, Gentry, and DeKalb.

In brief information from other counties involving contested races only:

Mercer County Republicans nominated Jerry D. Allen for presiding commissioner; Susan Moore for collector-treasurer; and Kelli Judd for public administrator.

Winning Republican nominations in Sullivan County were Danny Busick as second district commissioner and Robert “Bob” Wyant for coroner. Voters of Sullivan County defeated a 50 cent road and bridge levy by a count of 442 in favor and 610 opposed 42% to 58%. Winning a Republican race in Putnam county was Jennifer Heidenwith as county collector-treasurer.

Livingston county voters narrowed the candidates for county commissioners.

The Democrat nod in the eastern district went to Jim Grozinger. Taking Republican nominations were Alvin Thompson in eastern district and Dave Mapelin the western district.

Linn county democrats nominated Wendy Fay as district one commissioner. Republican voters in Daviess County nominated David Cox for first district commissioner. Winning nominations from Harrison County were Rick J. Smith as north district commissioner; Josh Eckerson as sheriff; and Zach Wilson as coroner.

There were many unopposed candidates in the Tuesday primary election who advance to November’s election and will have opposition then.

Randall Mann

Randall has been with KTTN/KGOZ for almost 20 years. He is the current Engineer for all of the stations, as well as working "on-air" from 6 to 10, am in the morning. Randall does a bit of everything including producing advertisements as well as writing the occasional news article. Randall is also the current Webmaster for the studio as well as the local graphic artist.

Related posts