State “Opportunity Zones” to include area communities

State of Missouri with Flag Background

Governor Eric Greitens and Senator Roy Blunt announced Wednesday the locations of 161 low-income areas that will see added incentives for investment.

The “Opportunity Zones” include Cameron, Kirksville, and Sullivan County and were determined with the help of local input. The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 made the Opportunity Zones possible.

Areas with high poverty rates and slow job growth will receive a boost as they compete for jobs with additional state and federal tax incentives for businesses that invest in the communities.

Local governments nominated areas for inclusion in the program by sending a written proposal to the Missouri Department of Economic Development.  The communities prioritized their selections and provided information about development plans as well as descriptions of recent and future investments.