Southwest Wildcats well represented on Class 1, All-District 13 team

Share To Your Social Network

Despite a hard-fought loss to Norborne on the Lady Pirates home floor in the District 13 championship game, the Southwest Livingston Lady Wildcats are very visible on the all-district team, testament to a squad that finished the regular season ranked #4 in Class 1.

The Norborne girls and Hardin-Central boys won district titles, but both were eliminated from the Class 1 tournament in the playoffs, with Norborne falling to Mound City in the quarterfinal round, and Hardin-Central being bumped by Winston in the sectionals.

Named to the All-District 13 girls first team, from Southwest, are sophomore forward Kaylie Campbell, sophomore guard Kortlyn Rounkles, and senior guard Haylee Johnson.  That trio is joined by senior forward Maddie Pieper, sophomore guard Madison Brown, and senior forward Morgan Baxter of Norborne; senior guard Mallory Hughson and senior guard Madison Mallory of Braymer; and junior guard Hailey Burrows and senior center Darriane Carey of Gilman City.

The District 13 girls Coach of the Year is Norborne’s Michael Lock.

Honorable mention all-district selections are Addie Paul of Hardin-Central, Megan Mertensmeyer of Norborne, Saige Holmes of Gilman City, and Hailey Cheeney of Southwest Livingston.

On the boys side of District 13, first team status goes to Hardin-Central junior guard Ryan Layman and senior center Clif Kugler; Braymer senior guard Logan O’Dell, junior guard Jordan Miller, and senior guard Jacob Dudley; Norborne senior guard Tristen McNelly. senior guard Jakib McCoy, and senior guard Logan Korff; and the Southwest Livingston tandem of senior center Trevor Shira and senior guard Brady Bothwell.

The boys All-District Coach of the Year is Kenny Layman of Hardin-Central.  Senior guard Rhyler Estenbaum of Hardin-Central is second-team All-District.

Share To Your Social Network