North Missouri voters face a multitude of choices at the polls today

I voted stickers

Ballots filled with candidates and issues greet voters in today’s general election.

Polls throughout Missouri are open until 7 o’clock tonight and KTTN FM 92.3 will have results tonight on local and area races plus reports from Missourinet and AP radio news.

Many names are on the ballots beginning at the top with candidates for President and Vice President from the Democratic, Republican, Libertarian, Constitution and Green parties.

Also in Missouri, there are many candidates running for six statewide offices: U.S. Senator, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer, and Attorney General. A Missouri Supreme Court judge is up for retention. The statewide ballots issues include deciding five constitutional amendments and one proposition.

Across northern Missouri, four candidates seek U.S. representative from the sixth congressional district. They are Democrat David Blackwell, Republican Sam Graves, Libertarian Russ Lee Monchil, and Green Party candidate Mike Diel.

For the Missouri House, candidates are unopposed in the second, third, sixth, seventh, and eighth legislative districts. Respectively, they are J. Eggleston, Nate Walker, Tim Remole, Rusty Black, and Jim Neely.

Candidates seeking 21st district state senator are Democrat Eigene Ver Dught, Republican Denny Hoskins, and Libertarian Bill Wayne. This Senate district includes

Livingston and Caldwell counties of the Green Hills plus several others. The odd- numbered Senate seats are up for election across the state.

Within our nine-county area, there’s a total of 15 local races.

Four are in Daviess county; two each in Mercer, Livingston, and Linn counties; and one apiece for Grundy, Sullivan, Putnam, Harrison, and Caldwell Counties.

Grundy Countians are voting today on a proposed 15 cent increase in the tax levy for the nursing home district. If passed by a simple majority, the levy would become 30 cents on the 100 dollars of assessed valuation next year.

Just one race for Grundy county. Seeking first district commissioner are Republican Don Sager and Independent candidate Jimmy Martin. Six candidates are unopposed for re-election: Second district commissioner Joe Brinser, Sheriff Rodney Herring, Collector-Treasurer Barbara Harris, Assessor Kathy Veatch, Public Administrator Jill Eaton, and Coroner Dwayne Slater.

Races for a Mercer County office include Democrat Duane Hobbs and Republican Jerry D. Allen for the unexpired term as presiding commissioner; plus candidates for First District Commissioner: Democrat Mike Moore and Republican Shane Grooms.

Contests in Daviess County are for Second District Commissioner between Democrat Carl Carder and Republican Wayne Uthe; for Sheriff between Democrat Ben Becerra and Republican Kevin Heldenbrand; for Assessor between Democrat Sally Black and Republican Ronetta Burton; and for public administrator, a race involving Democrat Kathy Kyser and Republican Kayla Michael.

Three candidates seek Sullivan County First District Commissioner: Democrat Mike Hepler, Republican Kevin Swearengen, and Independent John Watt.

Races highlighted in Livingston County include for First District Commissioner between Democrat Jim Grozinger and Republican Alvin Thompson; candidates for county Sheriff: Democrat Eric Menconi and Republican Steve Cox.

One race in Harrison county. Seeking North District Commissioner are Democrat Bob McCoy and Republican Rick J. Smith.

Races for Linn County Commissioner seats involve First District; Democrat Wendy Fay, Republican Mike Brown, and Independent Joel Grant; and for Second District: Democrat Jim Libby and Republican Josh Muck.

In Caldwell County, it’s Democrat Donnie Cox and Republican Jonathan Abbott for Eastern District Commissioner.

There’s only race in Putnam County. It’s for Assessor – between Democrat Chrissy Gillis and Republican Paul Rouse.

Many other candidates are unopposed on the county ballots for this area.

Voting at the polls continues until 7 o’clock tonight across Missouri.