North Missouri students excel at Missouri state FFA Convention in Columbia

Share To Your Social Network

At the Missouri FFA Convention in Columbia, Princeton FFA has a state champion livestock judging team. Several of the state, career development events, were held yesterday with other categories today.

Right behind first place Princeton for livestock judging was a Chillicothe FFA team in second place. Princeton also had a team place third in the judging of horses. Members of the state champion livestock team from Princeton are Savannah Milburn (3rd), Shambree Hagan (4th), Madison Enright (6th), and Vivian Allen. Princeton students who are on the horse judging team are Hunter Boxley, Logan Krohn, Kylie Willett, and Soyer Wimer. Chillicothe FFA on their second place livestock team are Ben Jones (2nd), Zach Trent (8th), Cole Gutshall, and Gunnar Leach.

Among other career development event results involving area schools: Hamilton was fifth in entomology and 12th in horses; Putnam county of Unionville was 8th in dairy foods and 9th in livestock. Gallatin was 10th in nursery-landscape. Milan was 13th in FFA knowledge. Gilman City was 14th in soils judging. Trenton FFA had a team placed 14th (out of 48) in the farm management category at the state convention.

Only 34 schools across the state receive a National FFA chapter award. Those earning that recognition from this area include Milan 8th, Trenton 13th; Chillicothe 26th, and Brookfield 31st.

FFA State officers for the 2016-17 year also were announced yesterday.

The state FFA president will be Colton Spencer of Aurora in southwest Missouri. He will succeed Adam Kirby of Trenton – Kirby becomes the past-president and serves another year on the state officer team.

Serving as state vice presidents from this part of the state will be Natalie Ayers of Green City representing FFA area three and Logan Korff of, Norborne, representing FFA area two.

Several students from this area have won proficiency awards at the Missouri

FFA Convention in Columbia. Among the 48 categories:

Milan student Tyler Curtis won in agricultural mechanics fabrication and design. Matt Stafford of Milan took top honors in agricultural services.

Green City student Zachary Ayers was first in beef production – placement.

Chillicothe FFA member Joseph Circo won in environmental science and natural resource management. Sarah Leininger of Maysville in poultry production. Cody Weisz of Norborne in agricultural mechanics repair and maintenance – placement: again first place state proficiency award winners.

Additional area students received second place proficiency awards.

They include: Kathelyn Brookfield in agriculture education; Derek Hardy of Brookfield in agri-science animal systems research; Joel Martin of Meadville

in beef production entrepreneurship; Blair Messner of Albany in beef production placement; Seth Gibson of Norborne in fiber or oil crop production; Derek Stimpson of Trenton in grain production placement; Jacob Stivers of Green City in poultry production; and Devin Vestal of Putnam County at Unionville in swine production placement – again, all 2nd place state proficiency winners.


Share To Your Social Network
Randall Mann

Randall has been with KTTN/KGOZ for almost 20 years. He is the current Engineer for all of the stations, as well as working "on-air" from 6 to 10, am in the morning. Randall does a bit of everything including producing advertisements as well as writing the occasional news article. Randall is also the current Webmaster for the studio as well as the local graphic artist.

    Related posts