North Central Missouri College recognizes employees with awards

NCMC Recognizes Five Years of Service

Multiple awards were presented at the annual faculty/staff recognition ceremony at North Central Missouri College on April 25.

Lola Swint, Mathematics Chair/Instructor, was given praise and recognition for her years of service and upcoming retirement from NCMC. Lola will retire at the end of June 2018. 

Also recognized were those who earned advanced education degrees: Beth Caldarello, Library Director, Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from St. Louis University and Lisa Geiser, Database Administrator, A+ Certification. In other employee accomplishments, Jeni Croy, Women’s Basketball Coach/Math Instructor was recognized for being selected as the NJCAA Region 16 Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year. The following employees were also recognized for being selected as Outstanding Employees of the month: Nate Gamet, Hilary Cooksey, Shellee Castanada, Lola Swint, Craig Sager, Joni Oaks, Jamie Cunningham, Dennis Sager, Melissa Sims, and Sarah Bird.

Members of the NCMC family were recognized with years of service awards.  The following employees for recognized for five years of service: Tami Campbell, Stan Scott, Sue Quinn, Tyson Otto, Beth Caldarello, Sarah Williamson, Jamie Cunningham, Cindy Peterie, Jeremy Esry, and Annette Pool. For ten years of service, the following employees were recognized: Shellee Castanada, Bari VanDyke, Aimee Riley, Tammie Wiebers, Jason Helton, Heather McCollum, and Sarah Bonnett. Also recognized, was Jeanie Griffin for thirty years of service at North Central Missouri College.

Two faculty members were recognized for their award of tenure status Annette Pool, Science Instructor, and Beth Caldarello, Library Director.

Jayne Meservey, Library Assistant, was awarded the NCMC Spirit Award. The NCMC Spirit Award recognizes an employee that has demonstrated great morale and positive attitude. The recipient is selected based on their overall NCMC spirit, enthusiasm, involvement, encouragement toward others, helpfulness, and optimistic outlook.

The Shipley Excellence in Assessment Award was presented to Nate Gamet, Ketcham Center Director and Maryellen Harman, History Instructor. This award recognizes an individual or department that has accomplished meaningful assessment to improve student learning or services and is named in honor of NCMC Professor Emeritus Melody Shipley.

Faculty member Beth Caldarello, Library Director, was announced as this year’s NISOD Excellence in Teaching Award winner. The NISOD award is a national honor that is given to a faculty member that demonstrates a clear vision of teaching, substantial contribution to the improvement of teaching methods and curriculum, captivating presenter, leader, responsible, an expert in their field.

Lola Swint, Mathematics Department Chair/Instructor, was awarded the Outstanding Employee Top Sail Award. The Top Sail recipient is given once annually to an individual that has significantly helped NCMC become a better place through their leadership, performance, attitude, and accomplishments. Employees are nominated by other employees and selected by the president and respected presidents of each group (AMP, classified, faculty, students).

This year’s Brown-Pushkarsky Award winner, selected by members of the student body, was faculty member Tina Totten. The Brown-Pushkarsky Award, named in honor of NCMC Professors Emeritus Tom Brown and Louis Pushkarsky, recognizes an instructor who best exemplifies their dedication to teaching.

The Allnutt Award was presented to Shellee Castanada, Library Assistant.  The Allnutt Award is named in honor of staff member Lee Ann Allnutt. This award is designated for a staff member who has provided exemplary service to students; it is also chosen by the student body.

The student body also presented the Nowland Excellent Student Organization Advisor. This award is presented to an individual that provides leadership, growth, and commitment to the student organization they advise. This year’s recipient was Jack Green, Agriculture Instructor. This award is named in honor of retired faculty member David Nowland.

For a complete listing of photos and those receiving awards please see the NCMC album on Flicker.