Newtown-Harris School one of five grant recipients

Newtown-Harris School Website

The Newtown-Harris R-3 Board of Education approved positions pertaining to receiving a grant at its meeting Monday evening.

Superintendent Doctor Kim Johnson reported that the district, under the North Central Missouri After School Cooperative, was one of five recipients of funding from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s 21st Century After School Grant.

The North Central Missouri After School Cooperative will receive $399,000 per year for five years. The Newtown-Harris School District will receive $66,789 per year with total grant funding for the district to be $253,798.

Newtown-Harris began the before and after school tutoring program Monday.

The board approved Johnson as the project site coordinator for the 21st Century Grant for the 2017-2018 school year. It also approved business teacher Linda Hague as project coordinator and bookkeeper Amanda Neff as project bookkeeper and data entry personnel.

Title 1 teacher Susanne Crawford, third and fourth-grade teacher Danessa Derry, counselor Staci Freeman, math teacher Colleena Johnson, English teacher Andrea Luper, art teacher Samantha Miller, and kindergarten teacher Julie Tucker will be 21st Century Grant after school teachers.

The board also approved the Special Education Compliance Plan for the 2017-2018 school year.