Help available for Missouri residents feeling stress after disasters

Counseling graphic

The state of Missouri has received federal funding for a program that provides counseling for residents feeling stressed or overwhelmed because of the April 29-July 5 storms and flooding.

The Show Me Hope program is open to individuals and families who live in the following 20 counties designated for federal disaster assistance: Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, and St. Charles.

Crisis counselors in the 20 counties are available to connect residents with local mental health resources. All counseling provided is free and confidential.

You may contact the Show Me Hope provider covering these counties:

  • Pike County
    • Arthur Center: 573-582-1234
  • Boone, Carroll, Chariton, and Greene counties
    • Burrell Behavioral Health: 417-761-5898 Contact: Matt Lemmon
  • Cole, Jackson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Miller, Osage, Pulaski, and St. Charles counties
    • Compass Health: 844-853-8937
  • Livingston County
    • Department of Mental Health: 573-751-3070
  • Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, and Platte counties
    • Family Guidance Center: 816-364-1501
  • Jasper County
    • Ozark Center: 417-434-3458

The state is applying for six additional counties to be added to the crisis counseling services, namely: Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton, and Saline.

A separate counseling service is open to any Missouri resident who is experiencing stress or emotional strain from disasters. Contact the disaster distress helpline 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 800-985-5990. You can also send the text message “TalkWithUs” to 66746.