Complete area election results for Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Election Results

While it was a very light voter turnout in Grundy County for the election Tuesday, the race for the Grundy County Nursing Home District Board turned out to be very close. Three incumbents will return to the Trenton City Council.

Three candidates filed for the two open seats on the nursing home district board. The unofficial but final totals show Anna Ferguson with 350 votes and Brigette Bunnell with 335 votes to win the seats. Coming in third was Edna Foster at 321 votes.

For the Trenton City Council, Brad Chumbley defeated Tom Sticker 51 to 46 to retain his seat as second ward city councilman. Elected were David Mlika in the Third Ward with 72 votes and Larry Crawford in the Fourth Ward with 81 votes. Both ran unopposed.

No one filed in time to have their name printed on ballots for First Ward councilman. The only declared candidate for the seat, William Lewis Fisher, had five write-ins votes to win the seat. Each of the councilmen was elected for two-year terms.

Winning a race of Grundy R-5 Board of Education were Mike Herrold with 68 votes and Alex Peterson with 58. Opie Peterson received 46 votes. For the Spickard School District, Ruth Ann Shipps was unopposed and received 62 votes. Two other seats will be determined by write-in votes. Patrons defeated a proposed 68 cent increase in the school tax levy. 44 were opposed and 24 were in favor from the two counties.

Chosen aldermen at large in Spickard were Maggie George and Frank Felder – each with 18 votes. Betty Lee was third with 11 votes. A 35 cent levy for the Spickard road district passed 17 to 11.

Six hundred and three (603) ballots were cast in Grundy county, representing only a ten point three three percent voter turnout. Each of the nine precincts and absentees had fewer than 100 votes. The numbers ranged from 23 who voted at Tindall up to 94 in 2nd ward voting at NCMC.

Voter turnout in Mercer County was just 12 point seven percent. The half-cent sales tax for law enforcement lost with 117 in favor and 187 opposed. That’s a 61 percent majority against the proposed sales tax. Selected for city offices in Princeton without opposition were Kurt Meighen as mayor; Tony Johnson and Eddy Oswalt as north and South Ward councilmen.

For the town of Mercer, Billy Fisher received 29 votes to fill one alderman seat. The other position ended in a tie with 24 votes apiece to David Bagley and Jessica Stark. Mercer votes approved the question 31 to 10 to allow the town to forgo an election if the filed candidates equal the open positions. Winning a contest for North Mercer board of education were Kirk Ellis with 85 and Ben Fisher with 77 votes. (Chris Main had 48 and Jimmy Michael got 30 votes)

In Milan, Andy Herington was re-elected mayor with no opposition. Winning races for aldermen were Randy McCollum (over David Atkins 45 to 13) in the North Ward and Steve Hill (over Ricky Gardner 27 to 21) in the South Ward. Sally Jones won in the West Ward as she was unopposed. Newtown voters approved 16 to 4, the continuation of a 30 cent levy for a four year period.

Meadville school patrons approved 130 to 20, the waiver of the Proposition C sales tax rollback. (87% support) Selected for Meadville School Board were Seth Link and Ellen Tsikoyak. The Brookfield school tax levy passed with 72 percent support (477 to 184). Marceline school bond issue was approved (305 to 138) for 69%. Marceline sales tax passed 215 to 56. (79 percent approval) The Polo school bonds issue passed with 76 percent support (276 to 89)

Livingston County voters, with nearly 75 percent support, approved a question on having a full-time prosecuting attorney. (Vote count 700 to 237)

Jamesport Tri-County patrons approved the continuation of a 25 cent temporary levy for the next five years. The issue had 60 in favor and 20 opposed.

Winning a race for school board seats were Pamela Critten and Trent Dowell in Gallatin.  For aldermen at Gallatin: Dan Lockridge and John Whitfield were unopposed. Winning from a field of five for Altamont trustees were Roger Price, Crystal Rogers, and Lonnie Norris.

Winning from a field of four for trustees at Lock Springs were Troy Williams, Kyle Gaunt, and Luke Perkins. Jameson voters approved continuing a 20 cent additional levy for four years by a vote of 13 to 1.

Gilman City voters chose Robert Strong for Mayor as well as Jack Prindle and Peter Anderson as aldermen. Eagleville selected for the council Michelle Briggs, James Owens, and Lauren Richardson. Cainsville approved the use tax 22 to 6.

Blythedale trustees will be Jason Parkhurst with a tie for the second position between Debra Dancer and Kamella Parkhurst.

For Harrison county community hospital sub-district two, it’s Alan Hamilton. For Harrison County public water supply district, it’s Gary Rinehart, Larry Ragan, and Verna Osborn.

Voters at Unionville approved a half-cent sales tax for economic development by a vote of 112 to 84. Charles Pittman was elected mayor of Unionville.

Sherry Munden won a race for Putnam county nursing home district board member. Other school board races were won by Kyle Stith and Penny Copeland at Polo; William Shawn Coats and Emily Davies at Braymer; Kara Craig and Jeremy Rinehart at North Harrison of Eagleville; for Winston school board it will be Rebecca Caldwell and Trey Mullikin; for Pattonsburg school board, selected were Brian Teel and Lyle Briggs Hoover; and for the Cameron board of education: winners in very close balloting are Jackie Peck and Darrel Howell. (Dan Kercher was a close third)

Among other returns from Linn County, Ed Evans and Shawn Smith were selected as aldermen in Laclede; Larry Smith won mayor of Laclede; and chosen for the Marceline city council were Sallie Buck and Tyson Brammer.