Caldwell County joins the ranks of those issuing “Stay at Home” order

Stay at Home Order

The Caldwell County Health Department has issued a “Stay at Home” Public Health Emergency Order to try to keep COVID-19 out of the county. There are no known or confirmed positive cases in Caldwell County but confirmed cases have been reported in Harrison, Livingston, Clinton, and Ray counties.

The order is to remain in place until it is determined the emergency has been abated. A review of the necessity for the order is to take place no less than weekly. Extension or rescinding of the order will be made in conference with the Caldwell County Commission and state and national public health authorities.

The Stay at Home order asks persons to the extent possible, shelter in place by remaining in their respective residences, avoiding contact with people with whom they do not reside, and avoiding public places except as necessary to obtain food, supplies, or medical equipment.

Caldwell County residents are to remain home if they are sick, except to seek medical treatment from a licensed medical professional, avoid social gatherings of more than 10 people, implement personal protective measures, and avoid individual travel, except for attending work; obtaining food supplies, medicine, and medical treatment; and participating in outdoor recreational activities. Persons are also asked to engage in social distancing by separating from others by at least six feet.

Businesses in Caldwell County are asked to close community seating areas operated by a food establishment. Food establishments can continue to provide services by carry out, drive-thru, curbside, or delivery.

Businesses are also asked to allow employees who can work from their residence to do so, provide for the implementation of personal protective and social distancing measures, and require employees to exclude themselves from work while sick.

Caldwell County residents can contact the Caldwell County Health Department for more information at 816-586-2311. Other area counties with Stay at Home orders regarding COVID-19 include Harrison, Clinton, and Chariton.