The recent override of Governor Nixon’s veto of Senate Bill 656 most commonly referred to as the “gun bill” by the legislature has stirred plenty of inquiry at many local sheriff’s departments about concealed carry and changes with requirements.
Livingston County Sheriff Steve Cox has recently released pertinent information on the override, as well as providing some guidance to those who will carry firearms, as well as training on those who still want to receive a CCW.
There are several parts of Senate Bill 656 which impact the Office of Sheriff. The one receiving nearly all the public and media attention is that of “Constitutional Carry” for the Unlawful Use of a Weapon Statute being 571.030 Revised Statutes of Missouri (RSMO). Constitutional Carry takes effect January 01, 2017.
Unless otherwise noted the following portions of Senate Bill 656 take effect October 14, 2016:
“Self Defense” portion of this bill or 563.031 RSMO permits deadly force to be used by a person who occupies private property pursuant to the specific authority of the property owner to occupy the property. This section expands the “No Retreat” rule and now the person does not have a duty to retreat from any place the person has a right to be so long as they are not engaged in unlawful activity.
The bill adjusts some fee issues and CCW expiration for military members being 571.101 and 571.104 and section B of the RSMO.
Concealed Carry Permit Training 571.111 RSMO changes and will permit online training or regular training conducted by an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association that is an hour in length can now be used as an alternative method to obtain certification for the firearms safety training course.
New Lifetime Concealed Carry Permit is coming soon. A Missouri resident under certain requirements can pay $500 for a lifetime concealed carry permit or may pay $200 for an extended concealed carry permit for 10 years, or pay $250 dollars for a different extended permit which is good for 25 years. Lifetime and extended permits are still subject to the same suspensions and revocations.
One other question to answer is if you wish to travel outside the State of Missouri with a concealed weapon, in sheriff Cox’s understanding is that you still need your concealed carry permit from your county sheriff. This will trigger legal requirements with any state which reciprocates concealed carry with other states. If you do not have the permit you may only utilize this law within the boundaries of Missouri. If you travel out of state without a concealed carry permit you may be in violation of that state’s criminal law.
With respect to self-defense and “Constitutional Carry,” although this law eliminates the mandate for any firearms training, I strongly recommend that everyone becomes proficient with their firearm. Training only improves your ability to act under pressure, minimizes danger to yourself and others, and increases the likelihood of striking your target. Just because the law does not require something does not mean that is the best choice.
Countless times I have seen how a law enforcement officer in a stressed and tense situation reverts back to their training which helps result in a more positive and safe outcome. I have also seen times when a citizen was placed in a stressful and dangerous situation and did not know what to do or how to respond under pressure, which is something an aggressive criminal wants to happen. When considering the safety of your family and fractions of a second count; it is best to be prepared. I am confident additional training will help everyone.
– Livingston County Sheriff Steve Cox